In our attempt to gain members from a wide geographical area we move away from the major cities and taking a trip over the Humber Bridge.  However, once over the bridge, we are not going very far.  The first turning on the left after crossing takes us to the small town of Barton-upon-Humber where our latest recruit, Tim Phipps, plies his trade.  Tim is used to working from an office but has now moved to working from his dining room table. There are compensations…


Where are you working from now?

1.I am working from my dining room table, but lucky enough to be located in the Lincolnshire Wolds, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

What has been most difficult about working remotely.

2. Prior to the virus I was somewhat of an IT Luddite. Not quite going as far as smashing up equipment, but armed only with a very old malfunctioning Iphone, technology was my biggest challenge.

What has been your biggest technical challenge?

3. My biggest challenge has been navigating the steep learning curve of IT, having now purchased two up to date  Iphones and a lap top. Fortunately one of my sons, who is studying to be a solicitor(!), has been “locked down” at home as well, and he has not only IT knowledge, but an abundance of patience too.

Is there anything (work wise) that you wish you had with you?

4. With the help of my aforementioned son, I was able to bring all my paper files home. I have been able to take new instructions on 4 different new cases, but this does not replace my preference for taking instructions “face to face” , nor staff camaraderie/banter. I am a West Bromwich Albion fan, my colleague is a Leeds United season ticket holder….

What has been the most helpful thing you’ve learned?

5. There is no doubt that my IT skills as a whole have improved expediently, but the bar was very low. Learning how to scan documents using my up to date Iphones, is particularly helpful.

Do you think this is going to change the way you work in the future?

6. Yes, I believe I will work in a different manner, probably 2 days a week from home.

What is the first thing you are going to do when you are out of lockdown?

7. I try and visit my widowed 92 year old Mother three times a week. It’s about a 50 minute cycle ride away. Our conversations take place through a window. So I’ll take her out for a drive and buy her a coffee and me a hand pulled pint of bitter!